More Tips in the Social Media Realm

Thanks to BrandLove for the incredible 9 tips toward Building Your Personal Brand on LinkedIn. I worked the tips on my personal page to highlight my business and business page on LinkedIn. Here are the results:

Tip # 1 regarding Completeness of Profile: I agree that you should complete each section on the profile, but because I really want to highlight my business and not my personal profile, some sections (sadly) are not as complete as I’d like them to be.  Following Tip # 4 (rearranging profile), however, I moved the incomplete sections to the bottom of the page to emphasize a focus on my company and key words. Eventually, all sections will be finished.

Tip # 2: Regarding a Vanity URL. I created one. It was easy by just following the steps, as described. And I agree, it will be so much easier and less time consuming to find me and my business on LinkedIn.

Tip # 3: Regarding the creation of “sexier, more appealing links, again, I followed the directions and named my sites instead of just using the plain old Blog moniker. I used all three website links; though I’m not sure they’re sexier, at least they now have a more explicit description. These changes should definitely “help optimize my profile and drive Google PageRank to our other web properties.”

Tip # 4: Rearranging my Profile was easy. Again, I just followed the steps and moved the areas that I felt weren’t as complete to the bottom of the profile. Now my profile is highlighted with all complete sections at the beginning. And my business information, including the blogs I’ve posted, will also show up more clearly.

Tip # 5: Regarding Search Engine Optimization of Your Profile, I took this to heart and went to town. Each section now focuses on key words used in my business and industry.  I want our business to be easily extracted from all other companies in my industry and by increasing the number of key words we have the potential to be found by increased numbers of people.  I’m excited about the new format.

 Tip # 6: I changed my headline to emphasize key words closest to my business and industry.  In this way, LinkedIn is more likely to pick up my profile/business for those searching for screen or graphics printing or similar words. Optimize, optimize, optimize!

Tip # 7: Regarding Joining other Groups, I followed this tip prior to reading the tip by initially joining groups as soon as I developed a LinkedIn profile. I continue to learn how to navigate the four groups I’ve connected and have to say that I have connected with some exceedingly helpful group members. I intentionally kept the original number small until I learned the basics of belonging to groups. The only downside (that is also an upside, I suppose) is that I was  overloaded initially with requests to follow/like members on  FB and Twitter. It’s calmed down a bit, but seeing all those requests initially upped my anxiety level too much. Now it’s under control.

Tip # 8: I love this tip about adding Applications! Again, I followed the directions and immediately became linked.  Some great links are listed and I encourage you to try this step. I’m going to add more.

Tip # 9:  I’m taking the liberty of just sharing the tip in its entirely because it’s great the way it was written. Here’s how to Build Your Network. Once your profile is in good shape, work on building your network. Here are some things to keep in mind: when asking to connect with someone, use “we’ve done business together” rather than “friend.” Be sure to personalize any requests to connect with how you know the person or where you met or who you have in common.  If you do decide to try to connect with someone who may not know you well, be absolutely sure that you defend your network invite in the personal note section, such as saying you just purchased their book or saw them speak at a major conference. If you invite people to your network and they mark your invitation as someone they do not know, you will be banned (temporarily) from inviting new people to your network unless you know their email address.

 Thanks for following. I hope this industry-related news will help you be even more successful.

3 responses

  1. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Excellent site, thanks for share this article with us

Leave a Reply

