Work Less, Make More Money – Seriously?

vkhOiPc-yvA

Been working so hard …   Been punching my card…  Eight hours, for what… Oh, tell me what I got…    I’ve done this feeling…  That times just holding me down…I’ll hit the ceiling… Or else I’ll tear up this town… Now I gotta cut loose…..

When I saw the flyer stuck in my car door that screamed “Work Less, Make More Money” all I could think of was –  SERIOUSLY?

I often wish it were true. But…I know that’s not the case and besides, I like my job, I like the screen and graphics printing industry, I like going to trade shows, especially when I get to talk to the “artists” in attendance. A standout was the tall, extremely tattooed guy from Hawaii who had the most strikingly beautiful, vibrant peony tattooed on his hand and a tribal tattoo on his throat (he said that those two hurt the most, but were worth it).  I get such a kick out of talking to the youngest, just- starting- out- printers and students who are unable to hide their enthusiasm and are adorned with their creations that sometimes just stop me in my tracks due to the language or graphic nature of the t-shirt design. And I love the 60’s husband/wife teams (with the really long gray braids down their backs) who have been printing for all these years and remain interested and excited by industry advancements.

But work less and make more money? Seriously? Too much juggling of marketing, social marketing, sales calls, designing equipment, developing new products, keeping employees happy, traveling to trade shows, creating ads, taking orders, building equipment, orchestrating partnerships, AR/AP, answering customer questions juxtaposed with meeting production schedules and keeping customers happy. The youngest printers are entering an incredibly changing industry and will have to work long hours, do all of the aforementioned in combination with upping their business-savvy to have an enduring platform for their creations. As a result, they will have possible opportunities for fame, an appearance on Shark Tank and prosperity while fulfilling the needs of businesses who will always need screen and graphics printing projects.

As it has been through the ages, it will be through sheer determination, ingenuity and working long hours that will enable printers to “make more money” and, hello retirement, to eventually work less. And those enticing flyers? There is a prominent place in reserve for them. It’s called the round file. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

