Engage, Engage, Engage….

We’re fresh from a Social Media program and the only word that comes to mind is WOW. The presenter believes that this era of social media marketing will be over in 5 years. What?  I’m feeling like I just  finally “got it” (sort of) even with three blogs, three facebook pages, two twitter accounts, one youtube channel and assorted other marketing venues. What will take place in the predicted 5 years is out of my current realm of thinking. I can only hope that I’ll figure it out with this 50+ brain power combined with lots of tutorial by the younger generation of techno gurus (that really means begging children to help me).

So…this is my brief take on what I learned that I want to share with others in the screen printing and graphics printing worlds:

  • Take your Brand Equity and hurry up; work it and convert it within every avenue of social media. Engage everyone in all sorts of topics other than what you’re trying to sell.  Brand Equity is a brand’s power derived from the goodwill and name recognition that it has earned over time that translates into higher sales volume and higher profit margins against competing brands. Please tell me that I won’t have to work 15 hour days to accomplish this?!
  • Get real! An emotional, feel-good attachment to the way you are NOT working with social media is a good way to go out of business. I straightened up on that one. It means get on Twitter, Facebook, Foursquare, Linkedin, youtube, Tumblr and just get going. Like baby steps, the first few are the toughest.
  • You’d better learn how to text. I raised my hand high when the presenter asked, “how many of you said to your kids that you would never text w/them, that only phone calls between you would be the course of communication”? And then he asked by a show of hands, “how many of you pretty much communicate via texting with your kids today?” I stood up to raise my hand the highest. Oh, how the mighty fall with lots of humility.
  • You’d better thank your customers right away. Enough said.
  • Engage, engage, engage not push, push, push. Offer free samples, ask for feedback, laugh, discuss, engage some more, laugh, discuss and, only then, ask for the order.
  • Transition your customers to friends. This happens when you engage, engage, engage.

So…I  invite you to engage and thank you for taking the time to read this and connnect @: facebook.com/rhinotech; twitter.com/rhinomitemn; rhinoblast.blogspot.com; youtube.com/rhinotechcompany.

Let’s get out there and build some brand equity!

Leave a Reply

